Two Berkeley Lab Scientists Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Two Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory ÜBerkeley Lab) scientists have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a prestigious organization honoring excellence in science, the humanities and arts, and policy and communication.

Founded more than 240 years ago, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences supports multidisciplinary research to advance the country’s common good. Current focus areas include energy and environment, science and technology, and global affairs.

Berkeley Lab scientists Dung-Hai Lee and Jizhong Zhou are among 269 new academy members announced recently:

Courtesy of Dung-Hai Lee.

Dung-Hai Lee is a faculty senior scientist in Berkeley Lab’s Materials Sciences Division and co-principal investigator in the Theory of Materials and Quantum Materials programs. He is also a professor of physics at UC Berkeley.  Lee’s research focuses on condensed matter physics and materials science. The goal of his research is to uncover new states of matter and understand their physical properties.

Since joining UC Berkeley and Berkeley Lab in 1994, Lee has been credited with uncovering new insights into long-standing problems in theoretical condensed matter physics, such as hightemperature superconductivity, phase transitions in the quantum Hall effect, anyon superconductivity and symmetry-protected topological states, among many others.

Courtesy of Jizhong Zhou.

Jizhong Zhou is a visiting faculty member of the Climate & Ecosystem Sciences Division of the Earth & Environmental Sciences Area, and a chaired professor and director of the Institute for Environmental Genomics  at the University of Oklahoma. His expertise is in microbial ecology and genomics.

Zhou’s work ranks among the top 0.1% of the world’s most highly cited researchers. He received  t’he 2022 Soil Science Research Award, the 2022 ISME-IWA BioCluster Grand Prize Award, the 2019 ASM Award for Environmental Research, the Department of Energy Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award in 2014, and Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in 2001.