School of Science presents 2023 Infinite Expansion Awards

Seven postdocs and research scientists honored for contributions to the Institute.

Close The MIT School of Science has announced seven postdocs and research scientists as recipients of the 2023 Infinite Expansion Award. Nominated by their peers and mentors, the awardees are recognized not only for their exceptional science, but for mentoring and advising junior colleagues, supporting educational programs, working with the MIT Postdoctoral Association , or contributing some other way to the Institute.

The 2023 Infinite Expansion award winners in the School of Science are:

Christopher Cueva , a research scientist in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences nominated by assistant professor and McGovern Institute for Brain Research associate investigator Guangyu Robert Yang; Michael Fausnaugh , a research scientist in the MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research , nominated by Senior Research Scientist George Ricker; Gareth Izon , a postdoc in the Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences nominated by Professor Roger Summons; Kyle Jenks , a postdoc in the Picower Institute for Learning and Memory, nominated by professor and Picower Institute investigator Mriganka Sur; Matheus Victor , a postdoc in the Picower Institute, nominated by professor and Picower Institute director Li-Huei Tsai.

A monetary award is granted to recipients, and a celebratory reception will be held for the winners this spring with family, friends, nominators, and recipients of the Infinite Expansion Award.

3 Questions: The power of music in advancing social justice

Frederick Harris Jr., MIT senior lecturer and creator of the It Must Be Now! initiative, reflects on music’s historic role in addressing racial issues.

Jupneet Singh: Finding purpose through service

"I feel a great connection to my community, and I always want to find a way to give back," says the Rhodes Scholar and Air Force ROTC wing commander.

Comedy meets mathematics in a new opera at MIT

Senior music lecturer Elena Ruehr turns Charles Babbage and Ada Lovelace, groundbreaking thinkers of modern computing, into crime fighters.

Improving health outcomes by targeting climate and air pollution simultaneously

New modeling tool enables rapid design of effective and equitable policy combinations.

MIT wins 83rd Putnam Mathematical Competition, sweeps top five spots for third consecutive year

Twenty-one of the top 25 finishers are MIT students, including the Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize winner.

Student-led conference charts the future of microand nanoscale research, reinforces scientific community

19th Microsystems Annual Research Conference reveals the next era of microsystems technologies, along with skiing and a dance party.